Dust Deputy Customer Reviews

Submitted by Redoak, from Weatherford, TX on 4/25/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I couldn't believe how great this thing worked. The first time I used it I was making a lot of dadoes in MDF (really dusty work). When I looked in the shop vac there was absolutely nothing in there. It was all in the Dust Deputy. A lot easier to empty than dumping the shop vac and cleaninmg the filter.

Submitted by Max R Kingsbury, from Byron, MN on 3/27/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
This is my 2nd Dust Deputy Deluze. The first one we used on our sanding bench, the 2ed one is used with our cp miter saw. WOW does it do the job. WE just made 200 cuts of cedar wood and never lost power with VAC, checked the 5 gal pail and found 3" to 4" of saw dust, checked filter of the VAC and it like new. Not only will it save time but also save $ for not having to re place the filter at a cost of 17 to 18 $. Also saved time in cleaning the shop.
thanks
Max

Submitted by John Molinski, from Marshfield, ME on 3/9/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I visited Oneida's site and read about the significant dust stopping power of a narrow cyclone verses a wide variety, I have both and if you do anything for your health build a Super Vac using a run of the mill shop vac, what ever you got and couple it with the Dust Deputy, make that your portable vac using a cart design with large 4-5" swivel wheels. I built the Super Vac listed in Shopnotes issue 109 and the cart handle makes this a dream to move. Large wheels easily roll over cords and 2x4s, just hold onto it when clearing these. When you couple this to your vac don't forget to blow off the original shop vac filter and put it back in. Stand-by for the best suction from begining to end of cleaning your shop. Just remember to empty the Dust Deputy Canister the other ones not going to see much business, but check it at least once. I will never need to empty and clean my vac in the middle of sweeping again, ever start out with a clean vac and wonder where the suction went, not me not anymore. Do yourself a BIG Favor build and just hook it up try it, then build the Super Vac that meets your needs. Good luck.

Submitted by Douglas Hickman, from Eastsound , WA on 3/5/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
The most unbelievable vacuum system I have ever used. Three weeks of vacuuming fine dust and my filter had only a tiny amount of dust on it and the vacuum was still sucking like crazy. It has much greater suction than just using the vacuum alone because the filter stays clean. Get one.

Submitted by Tim Gould, from Lowell, AR on 2/26/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
The Dust Deputy works great. I've sanded for about 6 hrs. & almost no dust (maybe 1%)in my Filter Queen vacuum. I took the filter out for the first time to show a friend, shook it & I could not see and dust coming off. Yep my vacuum source is a very old (30+ yrs.) tiny 2-speed house vacuum that I've threatened to trash many times. With lower noise level, little or no reduction of vacuum & minimal electricity usage no shop should be without one. The only negative is as others have mentioned, $60-$100 is a little steep & it is fragile. I may build my next one but I highly recommend it for any shop.

Submitted by Jim, from Bettendorf, IA on 2/26/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I purchased the Dust Deputy a few months ago for my small shop and have since used it as dust collection for my table saw, planer, router table, and virtually all other tools where I could connect it. It is small, efficient and works well beyond what I had anticipated. Attaching to a plywood base with wheels makes it more stable (especially when empty) and very easy to move.

Submitted by Max R Kingsbury, from Byron, MN on 2/15/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
It is working better than I expected it to. I'm using it for my sanding bench and when I checked the filter in the shop vac it looked like new after hours of sanding. Looks like I need one for my miter saw bench now.

Submitted by Walter Ulrich, from Hadley, NY on 2/6/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
The Oneida Dust Deputy has worked beyond my expectations in my small shop. So far I have used it against my planer and router table with excellent results finding very little dust in my shop vac after use. This product has been well worth the investment for a small shop.

Submitted by Bob, from Double Oak, TX on 2/5/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
Just purchased the Dust Deputy Deluxe with a gift card from Christmas. Built the mobile cart from Shop Notes 1/2010 with some modifications to fit my shop vac. I have it all connected to my 2-1/2" dust collection system and it has actually improved the performance of the collection system - I can actually hear the air "howl" in my table saw. Extremely pleased with the performance so far. No problems what ever with the vac hose cuffs so far. Would definitely recommend this for a small shop or for mobile use.

Submitted by Bill P., from Huntsville, AL on 1/18/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
This works great. I bought the Dust Deputy only. Same as my large cyclone DC system. I had hesitated to buy one because I did not want the hassle of dragging two items around the shop. Issue 109 (Jan.2010) of ShopNotes magazine has a cart you can build that holds both items/hose/accessories and easily pulls around the shop.

Submitted by Leonard Peeples, from Sarasota, FL on 12/3/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
This product works betten than I could have ever imagined. It keeps the Vac filter clean and the Vac container is virtually empty. There is a tremendous increase in suction since the filter stays clean. This is one of the best working items I have purchased in a long time.
I purchased the basic unit and used my own bucket and hoses. The bucket was the snap down type 5 gal that had a rubber seal built into the lid. The 3 inch opening in the top was accomplished with an old fashion circle cutter on a drill press. To seal the DD to the lid, I used ROPE CAULK as an alternative to silicone sealant. If this lid gets beat up over time, it will be easier to remove the DD from the lid--silicone can be time Cons::uming to remove. The seal is excellent all the way around. I was able to hook up the hose system with some old hoses left over from my old vacuum. It works great on my bandsaw, sander and table saw.
I recommend this product to anyone with a small shop and wants to improve the performance of their shop vac.

Submitted by Dan Wojcik, from Shelby Township, MI on 11/27/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I purchased one of these a few weeks ago. I just saw all of the comments about the hose collars cracking on the first use. Mine did that as well. I called Oneida customer service and they apologized and told me that they now had some replacement cuffs in again and he would send them out the next day. I received the replacement cuffs in three days and they are as strong as the cuffs on my other hoses.

In addition to sawdust the DD works great with a bench grinder. FIRST, I empty the sawdust from the pail so that I do not have a fire in my DD. All of that super fine grinding dust and sharp wire wheel pieces stay in the pail, my shop-vac is clean.

I have found that water stays in the pail real well even if you suck up several gallons all at the same time. I find that it is much easier to empty a 5 gallon pail than to take the top off of the shop-vac and lift up the entire bottom section to empty the contents and then reattach the top of the vac.

My rig. So far I have bolted one of the pails to a dolly and put two bricks in that pail so that the DD is not top heavy anymore. I also drilled about ten 3/8" holes in the bottom of that first pail so that I would not have a suction problem when removing the working pail. Now it is easy to roll both units with two hands, but that is not very convenient. After the holidays it will be time to design a compact cart that can hold both units by their casters so that I have the flexibility to use them separately or putting them back together at a moments notice.

Submitted by Rob Robinson, from Croton-on-Hudson, NY on 11/16/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
For the minor investment this is about as good as it gets. Have mine hooked up to the 5hp/12gal Shop-Vac I bought from Rockler earlier this month and everything others have said is absolutely true! Built a little plywood "platform" on casters on which I've mounted the vac and Dust Deputy and it's very easy to move around. Cut a bunch of stuff on my TS over the weekend and just emptied about a gallon of dust and chips from the Dust Deputy bucket but there's maybe a 1/8 cup in the Shop-Vac and the new Cleanstream HEPA filter still looks brand new.

Submitted by Tim, from Columbia Falls, MT on 11/14/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I unpacked it and decided to clean out my powermatic tablesaw. Filled the bucket up to the top opened up my vac (an old sears model) about an 1/2 of dust in the vac. The only thing I can whine about is your hose cracked right away. I also use it to clean my pellet stove before the soot would plug my filter every time, not anymore.

Submitted by Vern Cooper, from Bloomfield Hills, MI on 11/14/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
This product works great! Easy to assemble and to connect to the various work stations in my shop. I've been using 'fine particle' bags in my shop vac to cut down on filter maintenence, and the Dust Deputy not only saves the cost for the bags, but clean-up is far easier and quicker. Great addition for any shop.

Submitted by Ted Robbins, from Tavares, FL on 11/10/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
This is the greatest addition to any shop since duct tape. I have been using the dust deputy for about three weeks now. The bucket is about three-quarters full and not the slightest amount of dust in the shop vac or the filter. I mounted the DD on a shop made plywood cover and used weather stripping as a seal. I used four trunk latches (Rockler #10245)to secure the cover to the bucket. Contrary to some of the postings, I find that if it will fit through the vac hose it will pick it up (reasonably speaking). I use this system for sanding, bandsaw, mitersaw and mortising. I will be mounting the vac and DD on a single dolly for more convenient portability. Great addition to any shop.

Submitted by Paul Bernier, from Ansonia, CT on 11/1/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I've been using the all steel dust deputy for several years. This is an out standing product. Hardly any saw dust ever gets into your shop vac, I mean fill the dust deputy and you'll only get a cup full of saw dust in the vac. Worth every penny you will not be sorry you invested in one of these. Note I built a dolly that mounts the dust deputy on top of my shop vac. Works great by reducing the over all foot print plus allows you to move both units as one. Other wise its a pain to have to move the shop vac and dust deputy independently (only draw back I have experienced)

Submitted by Dave Adae, from Waynesville, OHIO on 10/30/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I was surprised by the amount of small particles in the Dust Deputy bucket. Almost all on the dust ends up in the bucket not the shop vac.

Submitted by Dustin , from Lino Lakes, MN on 10/25/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 4.0
The system works exactly as described. I cleaned the inside of my shop vac, installed a new HEPA filter and have been using it with the Dust Deputy for RO sanding and occasional cleanup. I noticed the bucket was half full yesterday, so I decided to check the inside of the vac - virtually zero dust inside the vacuum tank and the filter looks as new. I was honestly surprised. I expected it to work, but am genuinely shocked by just how well it works. The only problem with the system that I've encountered is the plastic bucket lid the cyclone is mounted to. It doesn't lock to the bucket and I occasional knock it off.

Submitted by Cary Swoveland, from Vacouver, BC on 10/11/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I have the all-steel Dust Deputy, but I assume this one is equally effective. I am extremely pleased with the product. Initially I was concerned that suction would be reduced, due to the additional hose length (i.e., increased static pressure), but that has not been a problem. In fact, by keeping the vacuum filter clean, suction may have been improved. I put the cyclone on top of my (Festool) vacuum, keeping it in place with a shop-made connector. (The DD can still can be lifted off easily.) This saves shop space and makes it easier to move the vacuum and cyclone.

Cary

Submitted by James Munn, from Phoenix, AZ on 3/6/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 4.0
Overall it seems to work well. There are just a couple of minor issues. The ports on the cyclone are tapered to fit inside the hose cuff instead of the standard size "hole" these hoses are meant to fit. This makes attaching a stepdown 1 1/4" hose not possible. The hose that comes with the kit is very low quality and retracts in length when the vacuum builds up. I found a very good solution in the Craftsman Professional 10 foot hose kit. I was even able to use the "extra" adapters that came with the hose to fix the tappered inlet port. I also wish they had made the cyclone from antistatic plastic, then the grounding wire they recommend you make would do some good.

Submitted by Fred Blum, from Merion, PA on 10/11/2009Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
This is a terrific device. It collects virtually 100 percent of dust. I use it mostly with my table saw. The first time the tub got full, I checked my shop vac and found it completely empty! Truly amazing. It works exactly as advertised, maybe better. BTW, I mounted my small shop vac and the tubs on a simply plywood dolly, and put a band clamp at the inlet connection to the cone. The former makes it easy to move around my shop, the latter prevents the inlet hose from coming off, which it tended to do.

Submitted by David Semon, from Woodbridge, VA on 10/11/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
Superb product. I use it with a 5.5 HP Shop Vac connected to a 2 1/2" collection system that runs around the wall of my shop. The system has 8 blast gates and work great (with only one open at a time). While the system always worked very well, the Dust Deputy has made it so much better. First, because the dust stays in the Dust Deputy and doesn't get to the shop vac, the suction is stronger and stays stronger for a long time. Second, the 5 gal bucket is much easier to empty than the 16 gal shop vac. Well worth the money. For my shop, it is a "poor man's" dust collection system that works great.

Submitted by Justus Koshiol, from Rockville , MD on 10/6/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
Does what it says, great product.

Submitted by Jim Quarles, from Glendale, AZ on 10/4/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
Performs exactly as described. After 30 hours of heavy usage around a lathe and band saw, I saw a little fine powder in the vac, and a still clean filter. I even cut and turned acrylic and vacuumed up that. Normally, that just floats around the shop so I expected some of it to go through to the vac. None visible in the vac, all in the DD. I used to use a flat top separator on a 5 gal bucket and had to clear the vac filter at least every 10 hours. Top notch product.

Submitted by Danny Hellyar, from Santee, CA on 9/23/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 4.0
I've used this for a couple of months now and I really like it. It does work as advertised. Now I don't have to clean the filter nearly as often and the suction stays strong much longer. I mounted mine above my Rigid Shop Vac to reduce the overall footprint.

Submitted by Gary Wigley, from San Diego, CA on 2/19/2010
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 4.0
Purchased the Dust Deputy (cyclone only) and attached it to a bucket and to my 4.5hp Hanging ShopVac and works just great on the dust, I am using a 4in hose with 2.5 stepdown at scroll Saw and 4in at table saw. Not figured out how to set up ShopSmith 2 yet but it is my next project.

Submitted by Rick Jones, from West Shokan, NY on 9/17/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I bought this directly from Oneida when it first came out. I've been very happy with it. In fact I used it on a sander when sanding drywall because I was frustrated with the filter clogs. Once I hooked it up to the Dust Deputy, no more clogs. I'm impressed with the fact that the tight seal seems to eliminate any loss of suction on the part of the vacuum as well. I hook it up to all my power tools and use it for all my vacuuming. I'm really impressed with it.

Submitted by Tom McGinn, from Chelmsford, MA on 9/10/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
I bought this directly from Oneida before I realized that Rockler carried it. I do have a washable filter for my Ridgid Shop Vac, but honestly, not much reaches the filter. I disagree with the previous poster - the big stuff matters and clogs the filter. The little stuff you can wash off once a month if you want. And you can make a simple attachment to attach the bucket to the shop vac. It works so well I use it to vacuum the sawdust from my other filters!

Submitted by Harlow, from Keswick, VA on 11/18/2009
Customer Rating: Customer Review Rating: 5.0
As with other reviewers the ends of the supplied hose cracked. You're likely to end up putting electrical tape around the ends to fix them so you might want to do that first and maybe not crack them. And as with other reviewers otherwise I found the kit to be excellent. I tested it on a pile of light sawdust from my tablesaw. The kit bucket filled and virtually nothing went into my vac. I have mounted the kit and vac on a cart and take it to small tools that used to be a drain on my dust collection system or have no collection. This takes a load off my large collector and allowed me to remove long runs which has improved the performance of the large system. I use a HEPA filter on the vac and I believe this also takes some load off my air filtration system. I haven't had the kit long, but so far it works great.

Submit
4/13/2010
5.0 Stars
All the hype is true!
By Steve
from Northville, Michigan
Verified Buyer
Pros:
Cons:
Best Uses:
Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
The Dust Deputy works just like they claim it does. It is a little bulky, but the results are amazing.
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
3/24/2010
5.0 Stars
Works great!
By Bob
from West Virginia
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Lightweight

Cons:

  • NONE

Best Uses:
Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
The cyclone worked great. It separated all of the dust and chips before it got to my shopvac. I didn't believe it until I saw it myself!
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
3/20/2010
5.0 Stars
Worth every cent
By Nellieteach
from Sauk Rapids, MN
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Simple to set up

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • General Upkeep
  • Heavily Used Areas
  • Messy Kids
  • Workshop cleanup

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
Works great with a Shop Vac in my wood shop. I have a dust collection system, an air cleaner and use the Shop Vac to cleanup when I am done woodworking in the shop or when using a power tool not directly attached to the dust collection system. The addition of the Dust Deputy is saving me from having to clean the filter in the Shop Vac. Nearly all wood particles from my turning on a lathe that doesn't get collected by the dust collector ends up being vacuumed up with the Shop Vac. This meant checking to make sure the Shop Vac's filter was clean on a regular basis. After attaching the Dust Deputy, and monitoring its efficiency for nearly 2 weeks, I am 100% sold on using it. Most everything excepting polyresins (very light weight plastic shavings) are ending up in the 5 gallon pail. Extremely easy to take the cover off, empty into a garbage bag, and dispose of it. No more clogged filters that need washing, cleaning and/or replacing nearly as often...almost nothing in the Shop Vac! It is all in the dust deputy. I am getting one for the garage Shop Vac too, that is how impressive this add-on works for me and is saving me a lot of clean-up time.
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
3/19/2010
5.0 Stars
Can't believe I waited so long to get it
By atceric
from Spring, TX
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean
  • Lightweight

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • General Upkeep

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
Using the DD on my jointer, planer, tablesaw, bandsaw, router, and pretty much everything I can use it on. Works great. Vacuum suction is never lost because hardly anything gets to the filter on my shopvac. I need to build a cart to put both my shopvac and DD on. Without it, the DD has a tendency to tip over easily.
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
3/7/2010
5.0 Stars
Save time & mokney
By johnnybwood
from Oreland, PA
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean
  • Efficient
  • Powerful

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • General Upkeep
  • Heavily Used Areas
  • Routerplaner dustchips

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
If you want to save money on vacuum filters, this is the best of all possible worlds. I easily went through 3-4 high efficiency HEPA filters a year at about $40 a pop. Since I put the Dust Deputy on line I can barely see any dust on the filter I put in a month ago despite the fact that I've been making crown molding and base cap for a new den plus fabricating deck beams for the restoration of a 10 meter Dragon class sailboat. Doing a little math makes this one a no-brainer.
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
3/3/2010
4.0 Stars
excellent
By Jim
from Diamond City, Ar
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean

Cons:

  • Tips easy

Best Uses:

  • General Upkeep

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
used primarily cleaning sawdust in garage workshop. It saves Constantly cleaning the vacuum cleaner filter.
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
2/11/2010
4.0 Stars
Works as advertized
By Tool Junkie
from Victoria, Tx
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • General Upkeep
  • Heavily Used Areas

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
I use the system as a dust removal on a belt sander and to add to my router table dust removal.

Also use for general clean up in shop
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
1/8/2010
5.0 Stars
Must have DC system...
By Crazee
from West Texas
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean
  • Powerful

Cons:

  • NONE

Best Uses:

  • Anything dust related

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
Get the full kit. Everything is in the box. 20 mins after opening, had it sucking up dust. And just like review and videos show, it went in the bucket. I put mine on a sheet of ply with casters, cust holes for my vac if I want to use it seperately and was off and running. One of the better upgrades I've made to the shop.
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
1/4/2010
(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)
4.0 Stars
Good investment
By JMR
from Framingham, MA
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean
  • Lightweight
  • Powerful

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • Workshop

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
Great product. Definitely performs as stated. Will keep the heavy and fine dust out of the vacuum filter. I use to connect my large Rigid shop vac directly to my power tools (don't have a dust collector), but after running a decent amount of MDF cuts, the filter would clog right up and lose suction. Installed this solution and now barely anything gets to the filter, which means full constant suction. Simple design to empty, detach and do the old dump and run with the 5-gallon bucket to avoid the blowback from your waste barrel - 60 seconds total. I was hesitant to spend [$] on this, but the time and effort I have saved from not having to constantly stop and bang out the vacuum filter 4 to 5 times a day is priceless. Really great idea...
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

Submit
12/9/2009
5.0 Stars
Best thing since bread was invented!
By Bill_S
from Athens, OH
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean

Cons:
Best Uses:
Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
If you've fought clogged Shop Vac filters when working with something like MDF, this is the answer. I was amazed how little dust made it past this unit into the Shop Vac's filter. It will collect pounds of sawdust and the inside of the vacuum is barely dusty.

I attach it to a dust bag under my contractor's table saw to pull the dust through, as well as using it for my biscuit cutter and sander. I also use it for general clean up after a project.

This unit is a little lightweight, so either put a brick in the bottom to keep it from toppling, or fasten it to a piece of 3/4" stock. The instructions show it combined with the vac on a rolling cart which I might make someday.

This thing WORKS.
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
12/4/2009
5.0 Stars
I would reccomend this product to anyone
By RM6468
from Madison Heights, Michigan
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Clean
  • Ergonomic Design
  • Lightweight
  • Powerful

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • General Upkeep
  • Heavily Used Areas

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
I use this product mainly for clean up in my woodworking work shop
Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
11/20/2009
(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)
5.0 Stars
A great product that exceeds expectation
By don
from Burlington, Vt (sadly enough)
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use
  • Efficient
  • Powerful/Good Suction

Cons:

  • NONE

Best Uses:

  • Saw Dust

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
Have unit connected to Fein Turbo III with a hepa filter. I used to use dust bags but no longer find them necessary. I haven't had to clean the filter since I purchaced the unit. Love it!

  • Primary use:
  • Personal

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

Submit
11/13/2009
5.0 Stars
Tpmu tje Tiger says,, "GRRREAT"!
By Ben
from Metairie, LA
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use
  • Efficient
  • Lightweight
  • Power cord unnecessary

Cons:

  • No Appreciable Cons

Best Uses:

  • Good on leaves too
  • Woodworking dustchips

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
This thing works great with my ShopVac and it is fund to watch all the debris, from my tools and general cleaning up in the carport where I use it' swirl around and round. I my ShopVac connected to an Iswitch from Woodcraft that turns on the tool and the vac together. Highly recommended.

  • Primary use:
  • Personal

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
11/3/2009
4.0 Stars
greatly improved shop vac
By Jerry
from Forsyth MO
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use
  • Efficient
  • Lightweight
  • Powerful/Good Suction
  • Saves the filter

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • Great in the workshp

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
This is a great addition to any shop vac. My ONLY comment is that using the foam blocks to mount it to you vac creates a wiggly out of balance machine. I plan to buld a over/under cart. It is still a great addition to the shop vac

  • Primary use:
  • Personal

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
10/22/2009
5.0 Stars
Oneida dust deputy
By bob the builder
from RPV, CA
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use
  • Efficient
  • Lightweight
  • Powerful/Good Suction

Cons:
Best Uses:
Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
It allows you to use a hepa filter in your vac and avoid the filter becoming clogged and losing vacuum. I'm using it with a Fein vac and it took some searching to find an adapter to connect the 1.25 dia. hose to the deputy inlet. I used a rubber plumbing adapter. I was sceptical that a small scaled version of their cyclone would be so efficient. But now I'm a believer.

  • Primary use:
  • Personal

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
10/16/2009
4.0 Stars
Hidden Gem
By J.R.
from Augusta Co. Va.
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use
  • Efficient
  • Lightweight

Cons:
Best Uses:

  • Cons:truction dust
  • Insulation

Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
Using alot to remodel 1800's house. Cleans up plaster dust and old loose insulation very easily. Little difficult to manuever around,but well worth the effort. Why have'nt the portable vac manufactures figured out a cyclone system works a whole lot better.

  • Primary use:
  • Personal

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
10/8/2009
5.0 Stars
Poor Man's Cyclone
By WoodworkerBED
from WisCons:in Rapids, WI
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use
  • Efficient
  • Lightweight
  • Powerful/Good Suction

Cons:
Best Uses:
Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
I found this device to solve one of my most annoying problems, cleaning the filter on my ancient [...] shop vac. I would like to outfit my shop with a more sophisticated system, but can't afford it at this time, so this was a great compromise.

  • Primary use:
  • Business

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
9/29/2009
5.0 Stars
highly Recommended
By Cutbow
from Marysville, WA
Verified Buyer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use
  • Efficient
  • Lightweight
  • Powerful/Good Suction

Cons:
Best Uses:
Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
Installed with shop vac used as Miter saw dust collection. Saw a lot of MDF as test pieces for segment turning. Dust was clogging vac filter continuously. Added Dust Deputy, no more clogging. Works like a champ.

  • Primary use:
  • Personal

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Submit
9/14/2009
4.0 Stars
dust collection
By Danno
from Webster, NY
Verified Reviewer
Pros:

  • Easy To Empty
  • Easy to Use

Cons:
Best Uses:
Comments about Oneida Molded Deluxe Dust Deputy Kit With Two 5-gallon Plastic Buckets:
I am a Shop teacher and have a shop system at school but at home in my well tooled shop the dust collection is last priority unfortunately. This unit works well if you have the space to have this and a shop vac next to each other. Only a little of the fine dust gets past the cyclone. I have used it for sanding many projects and I have even used it to vac the floor with metal bits and hardware and it works fine. Just buy the DIY system, two 5 gal pals are not worth the extra.

  • Primary use:
  • Personal